More than “-aries”

We’ve been training.photo(8)

During the past five years — self-labeled as “The Waiting Years”  — God has been training us.

We weren’t sure what for.

I often said to Laura,

“I feel like we are ‘missionaries’ without a ‘mission’…we’re just ‘-aries.'”

Then God comes to us with this idea of moving to east TN to live and take the gospel.

God invited us to join Him in east TN.

Ah, a mission.

Before we met, Laura and I each felt a pull toward “mission work.”  Laura dreamed of an orphanage.  I imagined helping with gardening crops overseas and telling them about Jesus.

So when the Lord led me into my first worship leader position, I was a little surprised.  Laura was confused.  But we knew it was what He wanted, and we followed.

Eight years later, He pulled me out of worship leading and set us on the sidelines for five years of training.

And now, going to east TN with a simple gospel, we feel like we’ve come full circle…back to “missions” where we were drawn as teens.   We feel like this move to the Appalachians to do whatever the Lord has for us to do is, like a child leaving home, the first “grown-up” ministry we’ll do.

Everything else was training for this.

When God first presented this idea of being missionaries in TN,

I, Moses, immediately blathered out my long list of inadequacies as though God were not in the picture.

“But I…are you sure?…I’m not good at…I’ve never done…”

He smirked at my inadequacies, as if they were something to consider.

HE is here, after all.

Isn’t that enough?

Huh, Mo?

And He has given us two scriptures (so far) as sneak peaks and promises.

First,

“Be not afraid, but speak, and hold not thy peace: For I am with thee…”  (Acts 18:9-10)

Those last five words are gold.

And, second, He is sending us:

“to open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me [Jesus].”  (Acts 26:18)

God sees the lost or religious or poor or meth addicts in east Tennessee…no forgiveness, no inheritance…and wants to open their eyes and let them see Him.

To change their lives, and the lives of their families, forever.

That’s a big, doggone deal.

God is going to do something in east TN, and we are going.

We need funding to move.  (If you want to be a part of that, you can read about it and give.)

We’ve already gathered packing boxes.

We’re researching the area, finding out homeschooling laws and licenses needed for doing different types of work, etc.

Today we planned how I can make a “scout-out” trip for a rent house before we move.

We are going with Him to east Tennessee to “open their eyes.”

He has finally given us “-aries” the “mission” we needed.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “More than “-aries”

Leave a Reply

